Does “Fault” Matter in Divorce in Pennsylvania?
Pennsylvania does not require there to be “fault” for a married couple to get divorced. Couples can divorce for any reason, as you ( and our family divorce mediators ) are aware. Most commonly, our attorneys see divorces resulting simply from the breakdown of the marriage, followed by a request for experienced divorce lawyers in the Pennsylvania region.
While marital misconduct is a factor considered by the Court when considering Alimony, Pennsylvania divorce law does not punish a wayward spouse for causing the marriage to fail by forcing that spouse to pay for the cost of the divorce or by compensating the other spouse.
What are the fault-based grounds for divorce?
Despite the seeming insignificance of fault in a Pennsylvania divorce, Pennsylvania law still provides “fault” grounds for divorce. 23 Pa. C.S. §3301 provides:
(a) Fault.–The court may grant a divorce to the innocent and injured spouse whenever it is judged that the other spouse has:
So, if you are required to prove that one spouse is at fault, what is the purpose of fault grounds?
Typically, for a couple to be divorced in Pennsylvania, they must consent to the divorce or at least agree that the marriage is irretrievably broken, in addition to settling all economic issues. By these methods, the divorce will take at least 90 days if the parties consent to divorce, and up to 2 years if one of the parties will not consent. Sometimes a party refuses to consent to the divorce simply because he or she does not wish to be divorced; other times, the reasoning is more complex. No matter what the reason, one way to push the divorce along is by establishing fault grounds for divorce. If it can be established that one spouse was clearly at fault, the Court can enter a divorce decree without the consent of the other spouse provided the economic claims of the parties have been resolved.
For more information on this topic or any other topic related to issues of divorce, custody, support or family law in general, please call (717) 502-5000.
Other Frequently Asked Questions About Fault Divorce in PA
What is the benefit of a fault divorce in PA?
A fault-based divorce might be necessary when the parties are unwilling to work together and one of the spouses refuses to consent the separation even if the marriage is irretrievably broken. Unlike when filing for an uncontested divorce, there is no waiting period to initiate a fault divorce process. Depending on the context and circumstances, a fault divorce may also entitle you to spousal support.
That said, a no-fault divorce is still likely to be a better option considering the emotional and financial consequences of engaging in an overwhelming process that requires to prove misconducts, to face accusations and relive painful situations of your relationship.
How long does a fault divorce take in PA?
When you file for a fault-based divorce you can expect at least a few month but even more than one year for the legal process to be finalized. The length of a fault divorce depends on how many hearings and what documentation are necessary to unfold the conflict between the spouses.
an't wait for a year, she cheated then abandon me and my daughter. We haven't been together for 3years, we have no property together we have no money together see how her own job I have my own job and she have another man living with her, and I have pictures of them being together and she's engaged to him. I need divorce now not a year from now