What are Pennsylvania’s Drug Laws for Marijuana?
You will definitely need to speak with a criminal lawyer if you’ve been arrested with marijuana in Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania’s drug crimes carry some very serious penalties. If you’re convicted of a drug offence, you could easily face jail time.
For example, you could be facing:
• Misdemeanor charges of up to 30 days in jail and a fine of $500, for 30 grams or less
• Up to 1 year in jail and $5000 in fines (and an automatic six month loss of license) for possession of more than 30 grams.
• The risk of being charged with possession with intent to deliver or distribute if you have more than 30 grams of marijuana
It’s possible that you could get probation without a verdict, if you are a first time marijuana offender. However, your penalties may double with a second offense possession.
The fines and penalties are even more serious for other controlled substances like heroin, cocaine, LSD/acid, ecstasy/MMDA, meth, and prescription drugs including vicodin and oxycontin or illegal steroids. You could be looking at up to one year in prison, and/or a $5,000 fine for your first offense, or up to two years in prison for a second offense.
If you have been arrested for any sort of drug offense, please don’t hesitate to speak with one of our criminal lawyers at any time.
Leave a Comment