How Does Pennsylvania’s Points System for Traffic Tickets Work?
Pennsylvania drivers should want to know how the Commonwealth’s point system works, especially because these points could impact your license and driving privileges. To understand Pennsylvania point system, you must first understand how many points are awarded for various offenses and how long these points stay on your record. Take a look at this breakdown of the Pennsylvania point system
Pennsylvania Point System Breakdown
Here is a list of some of the most common traffic violations and the number of points assigned to each:
• Failure to stop for a red light: 3 points
• Illegal U-turn: 3 points
• Careless driving: 3 points
• Failure to stop at a railroad crossing: 4 points
• Exceeding the speed limit by 31 mph: 5 points
How Many Points To Lose License In PA
These points may seem arbitrary until you understand how they add up to result in a suspended license. They key number you want to keep in mind is six. Upon accruing six points, you will have to take further action to keep your license in good standing.
The first time you reach six points, you will receive a written notice to take a special written examination. You have 30 days to successfully pass the exam or else your license will be suspended until the exam is passed. If you pass within the 30-day period, 2 points will be removed from your driving record.
The second time you reach six points, you will have to attend a Departmental Hearing, where the Department may: 1. Order a 15-Day License Suspension 2. Order you to take a special On-Road Driver’s Examination 3. Take No Action.
If your license is suspended or a special driver’s exam is recommended, 2 points will be removed from your record if you pass the exam within 30 days. Or 2 points will be removed once the 15-day suspension has been served.
If you reach six points on your license for a third time, you will have to attend another hearing. The Department will then determine if a 30-day license suspension will be initiated.
If you accrue 11 points, your driver’s license will automatically be suspended for 5 days per point (first offense), 10 days per point (second offense) 15 days per point (third offense) or one year for all subsequent offenses.
How Colgan & Associates Can Help
It’s important to understand that Pennsylvania’s point system is designed to keep drivers safe and responsible on the road. By being diligent about following traffic laws, you should be able to avoid many of these offenses and the repercussions that come with them.
However, should you or someone you know be faced with a large amount of points on your license, you should speak with an experienced traffic lawyer who can offer advice and help you take action to preserve your driving privilege.
Contact Colgan & Associates today to speak with a friendly and knowledgeable member of our team who will listen to your matter and explain what options might be available to you. Call us today!