What Is The Seat Belt Law In Pennsylvania?

seat belt law PA

Seat belt laws differ from state to state. In Pennsylvania riding in a motor vehicle without a seat belt is considered a secondary offense if the driver or the passangers are older than 18 years of age. This means that you cannot be pulled over solely for not wearing a seat belt. There must also be a primary offense, such as speeding or careless driving, to accompany it.

Even as a secondary offense, it’s still very important to understand Pennsylvania’s seat belt law so that you and any passengers remain safe and responsible. The Seat Belt Law in PA was passed in 1987 requiring all drivers and front seat pasangers to wear a seat belt.

Here are the key requirements of the law you need to know:

  • All drivers and front seat passengers in vehicles, light trucks and motorhomes must wear seat belts.
  • If you are transporting passengers age eight or older, but less than age 18, they must wear seat belts, no matter where they are riding in the vehicle.
  • If you are a driver under the age of 18, the number of passengers may not exceed the number of seat belts in the vehicle.

What Happens If I Get A Ticket For Not Wearing a Seat Belt In Pennsylvania?

A ticket issued for failure to wear a seat belt can result in a fine of $60, plus the fine for the offense for which you were initially stopped. Though this may not seem like a large offense, it is still something that can easily be avoided by simply following the law and wearing your seat belt while driving or riding in a motor vehicle.

Pennsylvania created two campaigns: “Click it or ticket.” and “Just buckle up.” This messaging can be seen on billboards and electronic displays near roads all across the Commonwealth. The concept behind these campaigns is to make drivers aware that in addition to the risk to your well being, not wearing a seat belt can result in fines and penalties and that there’s no excuse to not wear a seat belt.

Getting into an accident without a seat belt

A seat belt increases your chances of surviving a crash by up to 60 percent. Despite this, far too many motorists still refuse to buckle up for a variety of reasons. To further enforce seat belt safety, Pennsylvania established various laws that address who must wear a seat belt and when.

Unlike in other states, a victim’s compensation is not impacted by not wearing a seat belt.

Related: What to do right after the car accident?

How Traffic Lawyers at Colgan & Associate Can Help

The best thing you can do to prevent getting a ticket for not wearing a seat belt is to simply wear your seat belt – every time and for every trip. But if you or someone you know is facing a penalty for not wearing a seat belt, our team of experienced traffic lawyers would be happy to speak with you.

Contact Colgan & Associates today for no-cost consultation where we can learn more about your matter and help you take the right steps to resolve it quickly.

Comments are closed.