What Constitutes “Leaving the scene of an accident” in Pennsylvania?
If you’re accused of leaving the scene of an accident, you need to contact a traffic violations lawyer or criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. Under Pennsylvania law, a “hit and run” is a very serious offense.
If you leave the scene of an accident, you may face third degree felony charges. If convicted, you face:
• A jail sentence of not less than 90 days
• A minimum fine of $1,000 (not including damages to the injured person)
• A 1-year prison term and a minimum fine of $2,500 (again, not including damages to the family of the victim), if you’re it’s a hit and run accident involving death.
That’s why it’s important to know you’re obligations at any accident involving personal injury, or property/automobile damage.
Under Pennsylvania law, you’re required to:
1. Give your name and address
2. Give your registration information
3. Show a valid driver’s license
4. Provide your automobile insurance information (information showing financial responsibility)
5. Give reasonable assistance or help to any person injured in the accident
6. Transport or make arrangements to have the injured person transported to a physician, hospital or surgical treatment facility, if it is apparent that treatment is necessary or if requested by the injured person
Please don’t hesitate to contact us, if you’re facing hit and run charges and want to speak to a traffic violations lawyer or criminal defense lawyer.
left scene of accident after car avoiding to hit my car with hazards on rolled